Welcome to the Royal and Ancient Burgh of Selkirk
Selkirk has excellent accommodation, shops, and services.
Selkirk has indelibly stamped itself on Scotland's and the Scottish Borders' ancient past. From being the site of the first Border Abbey to where William Wallace, "Braveheart", was declared guardian of Scotland. The diverse names of Bonnie Prince Charlie, The Marquess of Montrose and the Outlaw Murray have all contributed to create a unique historical tapestry.
Selkirk's main link with a turbulent past is the Common Riding in June, when up to 500 riders saddle their horses at daybreak to ride the Marches. The Casting of the Colours remembers the story of Flodden when Selkirk sent 80 men with the Scottish King and only one returned, bearing a blood-stained English flag. Follow Selkirk's 2005 Common Riding, and see the pictures of the Common Ridings from previous years.
Scott's Selkirk began in the year 2000 as a millennium initiative of the Scottish Borders Tourist Board and was supported by many individuals, companies and businesses in and around the Royal Burgh.
The band was formed in 1897 during the Silver Jubilee of Queen Victoria when it was known as Selkirk Silver Jubilee Band and through time the "jubilee" has been dropped from the name.